Warming Ginger Banana Bread

The most frequently baked thing in my house must be Banana Bread

I have experimented like some made Banana Bread scientist (seriously could probably write a thesis on this…)
All manner of different variations, using various flours, milks, seasonings, changing up the quantity of bananas, yoghurt/milk, using different honeys and sugars to sweeten… even adding protein powders.
You name it, I’ve probably tried it.

It has been a delicious journey of banana bread self-discovery and this recipe below must be my favourite yet.
I can honestly say I had to pack my brother off with some because I was at risk of eating nearly the hwole thing in one sitting it was that delicious; super squidgy and moist (forever hating that word).

 The  B E S T  banana loaf I’ve made yet
The B E S T banana loaf I’ve made yet

My favourite way to eat it, well, anyway! But when it’s fresh from the oven and smothered in runny peanut butter… that to me is H E A V E N L Y
The key to my heart.
(I’m a simple being)

For banana bread you mix up your dry ingredients separately to your wet ingredients, and then gently combine the two. So for ease have separated them in the ingredients section.

I have also given you some ideas from my favourite added extras that I think just give it that je ne sais quoi


I N G R E D I E N T S

  • Dry Ingredients

    • 250g Plain Flour

    • 1 tspn Baking Soda

    • 1 tspn Baking Powder

    • 2 tspn Cinnamon

  • Wet Ingredients

    • 4 Bananas (+1 on top for decoration, optional)

    • 1 Egg

    • 250ml Milk (I used Alpro Soya)

    • Stem Ginger – thumb sized piece roughly chopped

    • 150ml Honey/Agave/Golden Syrup

    Optional Extras: Crushed walnuts, frozen berries, mixed seeds
    I used all of the above in this about 1 handful of each


M E T H O D

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/Gas Mark 4/356F and line a 20cm x 12.5cm/8in x 5in loaf tin using baking paper.

  2. In a large bowl sift your flour, and add in the baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.
    Gently stir to combine.

  3. In a blender add your milk, bananas and stem ginger; blend it until smooth. Set aside.

  4. Whisk your egg

  5. Add the wet ingredients to your dry ingredients, along with the honey/syrup, lemon juice. Gently fold the ingredients together (not harshly mixing it) until all combined.
    The flour tends to sit at the bottom of the bowl so make sure it is well and truly combined.

  6. Mix in any added extras; mixed seeds/crushed nuts/frozen berries/stem ginger

  7. Pour into your lined tin, chop a banana down the centre in half and lay on top as decoration (optional) . Cover with a tin foil “lid” to protect the top of the cake whilst it bakes. Bake for 45mins, removing the tin foil lid after 30mins. Cook until the top is springy, lightly baked brown.

    Top Baking Tip: Test using knife to see if it’s cooked by piercing into the centre of the cake about 1/2 down, when you remove the knife it should be clean with no raw mix on it.  

Whilst You’re Here Don’t Forget To Check Out…

One Comment

Comments are closed.